Quoc An Pagoda was established in 1684. Its original name was Vinh An. On the 27th day of the 5th month of the Ky Ty year (13 july, 1689), Lord Nguyen Phuc Tran bestowed the pagoda with the name Quoc An, or national Merit (“Sac tu Quoc An tu”).
Quoc An has played an infuential role in the diffusion of Buddhism in the southern part of Vietnam. The pagoda itself is magnificently situated on the side of a low hill in Truong An district. Opposite the pagoda is Mount Kim Phung, to the left is Mount Ngu Binh, and to the right is the Hue tobacco factory.
This pagoda was founded by the monk Nguyen Thieu, from Guangdong, china. In 1677, Nguyen Thieu went south and established Thap Phap adi pagoda in Qui Ninh, Binh Dinh. He came to Thuan Hoa in 1680, founding first Phuoc Thanh pagoda and the Quoc An. The monk was sent back to China in 1687 in order to invite other high-ranking Chinese monks to come to Vietnam. In 1695 , he handed over the direction of Quoc An to his discuple, the monk Ky Phuong Minh Giac, following his appointment by the king as superior monk of Ha Trung pagoda Nguyen Thieu died on the 10th day of the 9th month of Mau Than year (1728). His stupa and grave is located on a small hill southeast of Nam Giao Esplande.
following principles of ancient Chinese architecture, the pagoda was designed in the shape of the character “Khau”. It is acceded by a majestic triple entrance gate. Inside the gate is a large yard with Phong Dong tower standing in the center and the main pagoda building. over the years, The pagoda has suffered damages by wars and nature.
Copyright by Phong Nha Pioneer TravelCategories: Blog