The name Gia Long is in fact used for an assemblage of tombs including those Emperor’s relatives in which the essential part is the tomb of Emperor Gia Long and Queen Thua Thien Cao. The whole tomb area is a joint moutain with 42 small and big mounts with different names in which Dai Thien Tho is the bigges and the tomb’s front screen – the joint – mountain also bears its name: Thien Tho Son.
The tomb was first implemented in 1814, after the death of Queen Thua Thien Cao. It was finished in 1820. Eperor Gia Long himself obseverved, studied the position and instructed the design as well as monitored the construction speed. Once in the construction site, Gia Long and the seventh and eight princes were wounded because one of the building fell down on them.
To visit Gia Long’s tomb, tourists can go by boat about18km along the Perfumeriverand the land at the ferry, or they can go about 16km by car to Kim Ngoc ferry and then walkfor some morekilometres. The stucture of the tomb is simple and spacious in a landscape with abounless pine forest. The path from theperfume river to the tomb is wide with high and green pines and melia azedaraches on both sides creating fresh air and a serene atmosphere. The two imposing oblisks standing outside signals the tombarea.
The Emperor’s Tomb was located on a flat andbighill. In the front is Great Thien Tho Mount as its front, in thebck areseven ounts as its back screen. On the left are14 peaks as “left blue dragons'” (Ta Thanh Long). On the right are another 14 peaks as “right white tigers” (Huu Bach Ho) – the tomb complex was arranged into three section – central group: Double – grave tomb of the Emperor and Queen Thua Thien Cao. Passing the Honour court, visitors can see improsing stone status and seven steps of the worship-year called Buu Thanh on the hill top. In Buu Thanh is stone double grave, in the concept of “Can Khon Hiep Duc” a symbol of happiness and loyalty.
Right group: Main monument is the Minh Thanh temple dedicated to the emperor and his first Queen. Formerly many things conected to Gia Long’s soldier life were preserved and worshipped in Minh Thanh temple.
Left group: Main mounment is the stele pavilion – now only the stele is left inscribed delicately and acutely by emperor Minh Mang to praise the late emperor’s merits.
To move along the paths among the grass and wild flowers, under the fresh shady pines tourists can visit other neighbouring tombs in this section such as Qoang Hung Tomb, the second wife of Lord Hien Vuong Nguye Phuc Tran (1620 – 1687). mother of Lord Nguyen Phuc Tran (1650 – 1691); Thoai Thanh tomb, the second wife of Nguyen Phuc Luan and other of Gia Long emperor… the most noticeable one is Thieu Tho Huu Tomb of Thuan Thien Cao Queen, mother of emperor Minh Mang, next to it is Gia Thanh temple dedicated to her.
Gia Long’s tomb is a wonderful picture of nature and architecture, in which nature is the main element creating the superb view of the landscape the boundless mountains and solitary pine forest, we become impregnated with the grandiosity and desolation of Gia Long Tomb.
Copyright by Phong Nha Pioneer TravelCategories: News